I have been told that writers should interview other writers. So I heeded that advice and contacted one of my favorite writers of a different type. Simone Star is the lead vocalist and co-songwriter of Florida rock band Simone (who recently won the BMA award for BEST ORIGINAL BAND). Here is what she had to say.:

1. Where does your songwriting come from?

Simone:  My writing comes from my own life experience or my perception of others’ experiences. I find that it is simple for one to write about what one knows. I have a lot of appreciation for sci-fi writers – they are a breed who basically make a ton of shit up and that’s not what I do. I must have a basic connection with whatever topic I write about – I need to be able to relate and understand or it’s not my ‘truth’.

2.  Is any of your songs based on books you’ve read?

Simone:
Perhaps, there are books that I’ve read throughout the years that have had an impact on my life by opening my perception about things – but it’s hard to pin down any one book to a particular song. I know with Bryan (co-writer and partner) he is always referencing movie scripts and even Steven King during the writing process – but at the end of the day I believe everything that we expose ourselves to has an impact one way or another.

3. How long have you been performing?

Simone:  Since I was a child 🙂:) Baby, I was born this way!

4. Who is your favorite author?

Simone: Hard to say (see #5) but I do enjoy Thomas Ashley Farrand among others.
5. Who is your least favorite author?

Simone: Nominating a ‘least favorite’ isn’t my style – I really try to appreciate (at some level) all forms of art regardless of whether or not I dig their work or not. It’s all subjective and I believe that my successes are due in part to me being open-minded.

6. When and why did you come to Florida?

Simone:  I came to Florida at the end of 1999 to escape the cold Detroit weather and have never looked back!

7. Have you ever tried to write a book?

 Simone: Every time I start to write a novel it always ends up being a song!

8. Which is your favorite song that you written?

Simone: All of the songs are like children – each has it’s own unique story and ‘reason for being’. I suppose that because I’ve re-recorded/re-released ‘Serious As Saturn’ several times it could be perceived as a ‘favorite’. It could also mean that it’s the ‘confused, alienated step-child’ that needs constant attention – I don’t know – I love them all.

9. When is the next album due?

Simone: Tabitha Rides The Shark” is due out Jan 2012.

To listen to Simone click to the link:  http://facebook.com/simonerocks

